Sunday, May 12, 2019

The Night Window

The Night Window by Dean Koontz
Random House; 5/14/19
eBook review copy; 432 pages
ISBN-13: 9780525484707
Jane Hawk Series #5

The Night Window by Dean Koontz is a very highly recommended fifth and final book in the Jane Hawk series of thrillers. Jane is an amazing character and this is an extremely satisfying end to the series.
The Night Window follows several characters in two main narratives in the plot, as well as several additional story lines in the sub-plots. In the first, Warwick Hollister, the billionaire behind the Techno Arcadians, invites a young filmmaker to his Colorado retreat where he tells the young man everything - and then, as a snow storm moves in, he sets out to hunt him for sport. In the ongoing story of Jane's attempt to keep Travis hidden from the bad guys as she tries to expose the Techno Arcadians, she is joined by Vikram Rangnekar, a brilliant former FBI coder who has left back doors into many key agencies and is acquiring proof of the conspiracy, including names of those involved and those on their kill list. Additionally there are all sorts of other complications and heart-pounding threats.

Obviously, when you reach book five of a series, you know these characters as the ongoing characters were previously introduced and established in earlier books. Vikram is a remarkable new character and I liked him very much. I also love the down-to-earth common-sense characters encountered along the way that aren't gullible or easily led and have their own thoughts and suspicions about what is going on.

Koontz's storytelling and writing is pitch-perfect and he provides a great conclusion to an exciting series! I was glued to the pages and simply couldn't read fast enough. When I was nearing the end of the book, I didn't see an end in sight and was sure that there was going to be a book six to wrap it all up, so the clever, resourceful, and twisty ending took me completely by surprise. And it was awesome! Additionally there are some words of wisdom along the way that could behoove all of us to ponder in the current media possessed cultural atmosphere.

The series contains: The Silent Corner; The Whispering Room; The Crooked Staircase; The Forbidden Door; and The Night Window. While you could start with this final, stunning conclusion, I would suggest reading the whole series in order. Some installments are stronger than others, but together they are an outstanding series. And don't let the page count intimidate you - you will fly through these books. They are all truly "just-one-more-chapter" un-put-down-able books and since Koontz provides short chapters, you will be saying it repeatedly.
Disclosure: My review copy was courtesy of Random House.

No comments: