Wednesday, September 24, 2014

To Dwell in Darkness

To Dwell in Darkness by Deborah Crombie
HarperCollins: 9/23/2014
eBook, 336 pages

ISBN-13: 9780062271600
Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James Series #16

In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.
 Recently transferred to the London borough of Camden from Scotland Yard headquarters, Superintendent Duncan Kincaid and his new murder investigation team are called to a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Station. By fortunate coincidence, Melody Talbot, Gemma's trusted colleague, witnesses the explosion. The victim was taking part in an organized protest, yet the other group members swear the young man only meant to set off a smoke bomb. As Kincaid begins to gather the facts, he finds every piece of the puzzle yields an unexpected pattern, including the disappearance of a mysterious bystander.
The bombing isn't the only mystery troubling Kincaid. He's still questioning the reasons behind his transfer, and when his former boss—who's been avoiding him—is attacked, those suspicions deepen. With the help of his former sergeant, Doug Cullen, Melody Talbot, and Gemma, Kincaid begins to untangle the truth. But what he discovers will leave him questioning his belief in the job that has shaped his life and his values—and remind him just how vulnerable his precious family is.

My Thoughts:

To Dwell in Darkness by Deborah Crombie is the very highly recommended sixteenth novel in the ongoing police procedural series featuring Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James.

Superintendent Duncan Kincaid has been transferred to the London borough of Camden, what seems to be, in reality, a demotion. He is missing his old team and trying to get used to his new detective inspector, Jasmine Sidana, when there is a deadly bombing at historic St. Pancras Railway Station. It appears that one member of a group of preservation activists who were there protesting may have immolated himself with a white phosphorous grenade. The shocked protestors claim it was supposed to be a harmless smoke bomb. Two friends of the family are also injured in the attack.

While Duncan works this case, Gemma is solving a case of her own. And then there is the mother cat and four kittens that their sons rescue from the garden shed. It is another busy police procedural set amidst a hectic family life. Not only is Duncan on the case, but many characters from previous novels in the series are back as well as some new characters.
My previous review of The Sound of Broken Glass may also give more background information on thefamily and characters.

This is another winner from Crombie. The investigation is followed closely, step by step. Since this is certainly an ongoing series there are loose ends that will be tied up in the future, as, I imagine, more loose ends will appear. Certainly Crombie provides enough basic information that you can read this as a stand-alone novel, but you will certainly want to consider reading more in the series.

Personal aside:  Although it seems inconsequential, I was slightly annoyed that Gemma and Melody were always nibbling sandwiches or sipping tea and never seriously eating and drinking in the last novel. I literally laughed aloud when Gemma mentioned that she and Melody had drunk pots of tea in one chapter. Probably my rambling thoughts about it had nothing to do with this being included, but it pleased me enormously.

Disclosure: My Kindle edition was courtesy of HarperCollins for review purposes.

No comments: